So Does it?

It does, it really really does.

This is from an exchange between Ross on Rachel on one of my favorite Friends Episodes, The One with the Jellyfish. With anyone who needs a refresher with this episode it is when Rachel gives Ross an 18 page handwritten letter, front and back, for him to read regarding the battle of “but we were on a break!.”  Then she asks him if it does.

He responds, It does, it does it really does…..wait, what am I saying…. It so does not!!

When I find myself in situations where “it so does not”, I like to insert the following phrases ________________.

Fine. Whatever.

How many times do I have to tell you, we are fine.

yeah sure, whatever.

It’s fine. I will just do it.

Oh no, I’m not mad.

Go and have a great time. I’m just going to catch up on my correspondence.

Do whatever you want I don’t care.

I’m not mad. I’m just not going.

Why do you keep asking me if I’m upset, I’m not upset.

Go be with your friends it’s totally fine, my mom will have another birthday next year.

(the kiss and turn away)

#1. When the bartender yells last call.

Fine. Whatever

#2. When your guy says he will call you back in an hour, but he calls you back in three.

Oh no, I’m not mad.

#3. Your boyfriend asks if it’s ok for him to go out with a female coworker for an after work happy hour.

Do whatever you want I don’t care.

#4. When your boyfriend tells you he wants to go out with friends but you want to stay home and order in Chinese food.

 Go and have a great time. I’m just going to catch up on my correspondence.

#5. When your friend accidentally finishes your beer.

 Why do you keep asking me if I’m upset, I’m not upset.

#6. When a guy you were eying asks for your friend’s number and wonders if he should call her tomorrow.

Do whatever you want I don’t care.

#7.  When your boss asks if you are available to work this weekend.

Fine. whatever

#8.  When your man tells you that his guys trip might conflict with your mom’s big birthday weekend.

Go be with your friends it’s totally fine, my mom will have another birthday next year.

#9. The sales clerk informs you that you can save an additional 20% off by opening up a store card.

yeah sure. whatever

#10. You just make up from a big fight where he still hasn’t apologized.

How many times do I have to tell you, we are fine.

#11. A fight right before you are about to go out for a night on the town.

I’m not mad. I’m just not going.

#12. An overflowing bag of empty garbage that needs to be taken out.

It’s fine. I will just do it.

#13. Coming home to a pile of dirty dishes in the sink followed with a honey I love you. How was your day.

 (the kiss and turn away)

Rachel: Well, ever since I was humiliated and yelled at in front of my friends, I’m just, I don’t know, not in a museum benefitty kind of mood.

Ross: Right. So is it gonna be like ‘I’m abandoning you while your upset.’

Rachel: No.

Ross: No, because your not upset.

Rachel: Right.

Ross: About the yelling.

Rachel: Right, and the humiliating.

Ross: Oh, well of course, the humiliating. So, so wee, we’re okay.

Rachel: Um, hum.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So Does it?

  1. sjwhipp says:

    IT SO DOES NOT! Love this post. I, too, also love telling people that I have to “catch up on my correspondence” when I don’t really feel like doing the suggested activity. I also love the part in that Friends episode when Rachel’s all, “I’m not going to go.” And Ross is all, “What do you mean you’re not going to go?” And Rachel says, “I’m not going to go, which I think would accomplish the not going part.” Oh Friends, why did you have to go away?!

Leave a Reply

